Good Vibrations

I, I love the colorful clothes she wears
And on the way this sunlight plays upon her hair
I hear the sound of a gentle word
On the wind that lifts her perfume through the air

I’m pickin’ up good vibrations
She’s giving me the excitations
I’m pickin’ up good vibrations
(Oom bop bop good vibrations)
(Oom bop bop excitations)
She’s giving me the excitations

I’m pickin’ up good vibrations
(Good good good good vibrations)
She’s giving me the excitations

I’m pickin’ up good vibrations
(Good good good good vibrations)
She’s giving me the excitations

Close my eyes, she’s somehow closer now
Softly smile, I know she must be kind
When I look in her eyes
She goes with me to a blossom world

I’m pickin’ up good vibrations…..

I don’t know where but she sends me there
(My my what a sensation)
(My my what elations)
(Ah my my what)

Gotta keep those lovin’ good
Vibrations a happenin’ with her
Gotta keep those lovin’ good
Vibrations a happenin’ with her

Gotta keep those lovin’ good
Vibrations a happenin’ with her

Good Vibrations is another song by the Beach Boys, released as a single in October 1966., was composed and produced by Brian Wilson with lyrics by Mike Love.
Wilson explained that the song was inspired by his mother: “[She] used to tell me about vibrations. I didn’t really understand too much of what it meant when I was just a boy. It scared me, the word ‘vibrations’. She told me about dogs that would bark at people and then not bark at others, that a dog would pick up vibrations from these people that you can’t see, but you can feel.”
Fascinated by the concept Brian Wilson carried these vibrational memories into adulthood, and when he and Mike Love sat down to write a song in 1966, he contrasted these invisible, “extrasensory” perceptions with the sensual sights, sounds, and smells that fill an encounter. The more tangible perceptions may strike us first—“the colorful clothes she wears, and the way the sunlight plays upon her hair . . . the sound of a gentle word . . . her perfume through the air”—, but this sensory input was complemented by sensations less tangible—the “good vibrations” that, when coupled to sight, sound, and smell, produced “excitations.”
Love claimed to have written the lyrics taking inspiration from the flower power movement occurring in San Francisco “The new pastoral landscape suddenly being uncovered by the young generation provided a quiet, peaceful, harmonious trip into inner space. The hassles and frustrations of the external world were cast aside, and new visions put in their place. “Good Vibrations” succeeds in suggesting the healthy emanations that should result from psychic tranquility and inner peace

From this point forward, The Beach Boys’ story followed what many would consider a “California script.” Brian Wilson sunk deeper into mental illness and drugs, only to be pulled back from the brink by unorthodox psychologist Eugene Landy. His “milieu therapy,” which incorporated also dousing patients with cold water and locking the refrigerator door, was a hit in Hollywood . And he did help the struggling Beach Boy through his darkest phase. But beyond his 30k monthly fee, Landy also managed to secure producer credits on one album and a lucrative place in Wilson’s will. Eventually, Wilson took Rasputin to court, and eventually Landy’s license to practice was suspended.

Leave a Reply

