From despair and solitude to hope.

Over the Rainbow

Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
There’s a land that I heard of, once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream, really do come true

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where troubles melt like lemon drops away above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere over the rainbow, bluebirds fly
Birds fly over the rainbow, why, then oh why can’t I?

If happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow
Why, oh why can’t I?

 

 

Over the Rainbow” (often referred to as “Somewhere Over the Rainbow“) was written for the 1939 movie  The Wizard of Oz  and sung by actress  Judy Garland  in her starring role as Dorothy Following the film’s release it  became Garland’s  signature song  and she would perform it for the next thirty years, until her death in 1969. Garland performed the song without altering it, singing exactly as she did for the movie. She explained her fidelity by saying that she was staying true to the character of Dorothy and to the message of really being somewhere over the rainbow. In a letter to a friend, Garland wrote, “‘Over the Rainbow’ has become part of my life. It’s so symbolic of everybody’s dreams and wishes that I’m sure that’s why some people get tears in their eyes when they hear it. I’ve sung it thousands of times and it’s still the song that’s closest to my heart.”

 

Leave a Reply

