I’ve Just Seen a Face

                          I’VE JUST SEEN A FACE     ( The Beatles)

I’ve just seen a face I can’t forget the time or place where we met,
She’s just the girl for me and I want the world to see we’ve met.

Had it been another day I might have looked the other ways and,
I’d have never been aware but as it is I’ll dream of her tonight.

Falling, yes I’m falling,
And she keeps calling me back again.

I have never known the like of this I’ve been alone and I have,
Missed things and kept out of sight for other girl were never quite like this.

Falling, yes I’m falling,
And she keeps calling me back again.

I’ve just seen a face I can’t forget the time or place where we met,
She’s just the girl for me and I want the world to see we’ve met.

Falling, yes I’m falling,
And she keeps calling me back again.

 

I’ve Just Seen a Face,   written by Paul McCartney, had the working title “Auntie Gin’s Theme”, because his father’s youngest sister,  Auntie Gin, expressed a liking for it, while the song was being completed.  This is one of the few times when Paul McCartney wrote a straight-up Country song.

He stated, “It was slightly country and western from my point of view… it was faster, though, it was a strange uptempo thing. I was quite pleased with it. The lyric works; it keeps dragging you forward, it keeps pulling you to the next line, there’s an insistent quality to it that I liked.”

The lyrics sound natural and conversational, but they also contain a complex sequence of rhymes (“I have never known/The like of this/I’ve been alone/And I have missed“) which adds irresistible force to the song.

The Beatles recorded it on the morning of  14 June 1965 and  they overdubbed a maraca part. Maracas  are  those gourd-shaped percussion instruments with a handle, native to Latin America.

It’s not often that a bass player writes a song with no bass guitar, but that was the case here. This is one of the few Beatles songs that doesn’t contain a bass guitar part.

I might have looked the other way / And I’d have never been aware: he  noticed her by chance, it could easily have turned out very differently… ………                                                  …………..like in Sliding Doors

Leave a Reply

