I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan)

 

I Shall Be Released  – written by Bob Dylan (1967)

gustave-dore-newgate-prison-exercise-yard-london-a-pilgrimage
Gustave Doré – Newgate Prison Inserisci una didascalia

 

They say ev’rything can be replaced
Yet ev’ry distance is not near
So I remember ev’ry face
Of ev’ry man who put me here
I see my light come shining
From the west unto the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

They say ev’ry man needs protection
They say ev’ry man must fall
Yet I swear I see my reflection
Some place so high above this wall
I see my light come shining
From the west unto the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

Standing next to me in this lonely crowd
Is a man who swears he’s not to blame
All day long I hear him shout so loud
Crying out that he was framed
I see my light come shining
From the west unto the east
Any day now, any day now
I shall be released

vincent-van-gogh-vincent-the-prison-courtyard
Vincent Van Gogh – The Prison Courtyard

 

5 thoughts on “I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan)

  1. Hi,

    I was just listening to Bob Dylan’s Noble Speech when I saw your alert in my inbox.
    Thanks for sharing the lyrics. Superb as always. And yes, I was listening to Patti Smith too and how gracefully she confessed that she was nervous. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have always taught English (I’m Italian) and I love literature. Now I am retired and I have a course called “Words and Music” in the University of the Third Age of my town, where I try to enjoy my (adult) students with a lot of topics they may find interesting

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

