AIN’T MISBEHAVIN’

(ragtime) →  AIN’T MISBEHAVIN’

No one to talk with
All by myself
No one to walk with
But I’m happy on the shelf
Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you
I know for certain
The one I love
I’m through with flirtin’
It’s just you I’m thinkin’ of
Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you
Like Jack Horner
In the corner
Don’t go nowhere
What do I care?
Your kisses are worth waitin’ for
Believe me
I don’t stay out late
Don’t care to go
I’m home about eight
Just me and my radio
Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you
Like Jack Horner
In the corner

Don’t go nowhere
What do I care?
Your kisses are worth waitin’ for
Believe me
I don’t stay out late
Don’t care to go
I’m home about eight
Just me and my radio
Ain’t misbehavin’
I’m savin’ my love for you

Ain’t Misbehavin’ is a 1929 jazz tune written by Fats Waller with lyricist Andy Razaf and composer Harry as a theme song for an off-Broadway musical comedy
In a 1941 interview Fats said the song was written on a miniature piano while he was in prison because he had failed to pay alimony. His lawyer sold the song to a publisher for $250 so Waller could pay back the money he had been ordered to give his former wife and get out of jail.

In the lyrics  the singer is lonely, and  he promises to remain true to his lover and not to stay out late or flirting with other women.
It seems that the song was also inspired by Waller’s desire to answer back to those who accused him of overindulging in wine and women (it is said  that he kept two bottles of gin on the table during rehearsals, one for himself, the other for the band).

fats waller

Leave a Reply

