Words & Music

Per la chiusura dell’anno accademico 2016/17, il prossimo 15 maggio il nostro corso Words & Music presenterà le seguenti canzoni:
1. BYE BYE LOVE
2. THE BOXER
3. EL CONDOR PASA
4. MIDNIGHT SPECIAL

1. BYE BYE LOVE

Bye bye love
Bye bye happiness
Hello loneliness
I think I’m-a gonna cry
Bye bye love
Bye bye sweet caress
Hello emptiness
I feel like I could die
Bye bye my love goodbye

There goes my baby with-a someone new
She sure looks happy, I sure am blue
She was my baby till he stepped in
Goodbye to romance that might have been

Bye bye love …

I’m-a through with romance, I’m a-through with love
I’m through with a-countin’ the stars above
And here’s the reason that I’m so free
My lovin’ baby is through with me

Bye bye love …
2. THE BOXER

I am just a poor boy
though my story’s seldom told
I have squandered my resistance
for a pocket full of mumbles such are promises
All lies and jests,
still a man hears what he wants to hear
and disregards the rest

When I left my home and my family
I was no more than a boy
in the company of strangers
in the quiet of the railway station
Running scared, laying low,
seeking out the poorer quarters
where the ragged people go
looking for the places only they would know

Lie-la-lie…

Asking only workman’s wages
I come looking for a job
but I get no offers,
just a come-on from the whores on Seventh Avenue
I do declare, there were times when I was so lonesome
I took some comfort there
3. EL CONDOR PASA

I’d rather be a sparrow than a snail
Yes I would, if I could, I surely would

I’d rather be a hammer than a nail
Yes I would, if I only could, I surely would

Away, I’d rather sail away
Like a swan that’s here and gone
A man gets tied up to the ground
He gives the world its saddest sound

I’d rather be a forest than a street
Yes, I would, if I could, I surely would

Away, I’d rather sail away….

I’d rather feel the earth beneath my feet
Yes, I would, if I only could, I surely would

Away, I’d rather sail away…

4. MIDNIGHT SPECIAL

Well you wake up in the morning you hear the work bell ring
And they march you to the table to see the same old thing.
Ain’t no food upon the table and no pork up in the pan.
But you better not complain boy, you get in trouble with the man.

Let the Midnight Special shine a light on me
Let the Midnight Special shine a light on me
Let the Midnight Special shine a light on me
Let the Midnight Special shine an ever-loving light on me.

Yonder come miss Rosie, how in the world did you know?
By the way she wears her apron, and the clothes she wore.
Umbrella on her shoulder, piece of paper in her hand;
She come to see the governor, she wants to free her man.

Let the Midnight Special ….

If you’re ever in Houston, well, you better do the right;
You better not gamble, there, you better not fight, at all
Or the sheriff will grab you and the boys will bring you down.
The next thing you know, boy, Oh! You’re prison bound.

Let the Midnight Special ….

 

music

Leave a Reply

