WILDWOOD FLOWER

Wildwood Flower

(the 1920s: The Carter Family)

Oh, I’ll twine with my mingles and waving black hair
With the roses so red and the lilies so fair
And the myrtle so bright with the emerald hue
The pale amanita and eyes look like blue

Oh I’ll dance, I will sing and my laugh shall be gay
I will charm every heart, in his crown I will sway
When I woke from my dreaming, my idol was clay
All portion of love had all flown away

Oh he taught me to love him and promised to love
And to cherish me over all others above
How my heart is now wondering no misery can tell
He’s left me no warning, no words of farewell

Oh, he taught me to love him and called me his flower
That was blooming to cheer him through life’s dreary hour
Oh, I long to see him and regret the dark hour
He’s gone and neglected this pale wildwood flower

 

Waterhouse_-_Spring_Spreads_One_Green_Lap_of_Flowers
J. W. Watherhouse

 

 

This is an early American folk song, first recorded in 1928 by The Carter Family, the first family of American folk music
It is the lament of a rejected girl, sitting in the woods and winding the locks of her black hair around her fingers. She is deeply sad, she is trying desperately to survive, and she thinks she should react, or take revenge
Nevertheless, she keeps on thinking of her lover and recollects that, when he said he loved her, she believed him. He told her the things she wanted to hear. but then all her dreams faded away: it was all a lie

Traduzione in italiano:

FIORE SELVATICO

Oh, attorciglierò e intreccerò i miei riccioli neri
Con rose rosse e splendidi gigli
Ed il mirto così splendente con il suo colore verde smeraldo
La pallida amanita dagli occhi blu

Oh, danzerò, canterò e la mia risata sarà allegra
Incanterò ogni cuore e oscillerò nella sua ghirlanda.
Ma quando mi sono svegliata dal mio sogno, il mio idolo era argilla
Tutto l’amore era volato via

Oh, lui mi ha insegnato ad amarlo e mi ha promesso di amarmi
E adorarmi al di sopra di tutti gli altri
Quanto ora il mio cuore ora sia smarrito, non esiste pena che possa dirlo
Mi ha lasciato senza nessun avviso e nessuna parola d’addio

Oh, mi insegnò ad amarlo e mi chiamava il suo fiore
Che sbocciava per rallegrarlo nell’ora triste della vita.
Oh, come vorrei rivederlo e dimenticare quest’ora oscura.
Ma lui n’è andato via e ha abbandonato questo pallido fiore selvatico

 

2 thoughts on “WILDWOOD FLOWER

Leave a Reply

