T FOR TEXAS (BLUE YODEL No. 1)

The History of Rock Music (songs)

T for Texas (Blue Yodel No. 1)

T for Texas, T for Tennesee
T for Texas, T for Tennessee
T for Thelma
That gal made a wreck out of me.

[Yodel]: O-de-lay-ee-a-lay-ee-o-ly-ee

If you don’t want me mama
You sure don’t have to stall
If you don’t want me mama
You sure don’t have to stall
‘Cause I can get more women
Than a passenger train can haul.
[Yodel]:

I’m gonna buy me a pistol
Just as long as I’m tall,
I’m gonna buy me a pistol
Just as long as I’m tall
I’m gonna shoot poor Thelma
Just to see her jump and fall.
[Yodel]:

I’m goin’ where the water taste like cherry wine
Lord I’m goin’ where the water drink like cherry wine
Cause this Georgia water taste like turpentine
{Yodel}
I’m gonna buy me a shotgun
With a great long shiny barrel
I’m gonna buy me a shotgun
With a great long shiny barrel
I’m gonna shoot that rounder
That stole my gal.
[Yodel]:

Rather drink muddy water
Sleep in a hollow log
Rather drink muddy water
And sleep in a hollow log
Than to be in Atlanta
Treated like a dirty dog.

jimmie rodgers

The Blue Yodel songs are a series of thirteen songs written and recorded by Jimmie Rodgers during the period from 1927 to his death in May 1933

The singer  was described as “The Father of Country Music” and he  had two other nicknames: “The Singing Brakeman” – which referred to his work on trains- , and “America’s Blue Yodeler”.
The term “blue yodel” is used to differentiate the earlier Austrian yodeling from the American one introduced by Rodgers.
All these songs are in a similar format, in which the first part is sung twice and then followed by a concluding line.

The first Blue Yodel, recorded in November 1927 , made Jimmie Rodgers one of America’s first country music superstars.

Like the other yodel songs, it depicts an image which is full of manliness, violence, and also humour, for example when it comments on the water of the singer’s home state. Rodgers here is able to deal with serious topics such as separation, betrayal, violence, troubles of many kinds in a playful tone, which is not always without sadness.

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO:

Yodel blu n. 1
T per il Texas, T per il Tennessee
Oh, T per Thelma
Quella ragazza mi ha reso un relitto

Se non mi vuoi, dolcezza
di sicuro non devi tergiversare
perché io posso avere più donne
di quante ne possa trasportare un treno passeggeri

Mi comprerò una pistola lunga come me
per sparare alla povera Thelma , solo per vederla saltare e cadere

Andrò dove l’acqua sa di il vino di ciliegie
Andrò dove l’acqua si beve come il vino di ciliegie
perché quest’acqua della Georgia sa di trementina

Mi comprerò un fucile con una lunga canna lucida
e ucciderò quel dissoluto che mi ha rubato la ragazza
Preferirei bere acqua fangosa e dormire in un tronco cavo
piuttosto che essere ad Atlanta trattato come un lurido cane

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

