SALTY DOG BLUES

The History of Rock Music (songs)

SALTY DOG BLUES

Standin’ on the corner with the low down blues
Is a great big hole in the bottom of my shoes
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Let me be your Salty Dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Looking here Sal, I know you
Run down stockin’ and a worn out shoe
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Let me be your Salty Dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Down in the wildwood sitting on a log
Finger on the trigger and eye on the hog
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Let me be your Salty Dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Pulled the trigger and the gun said go
The shot fell over in Mexico
Honey, let me be you Salty Dog

Let me be your Salty Dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Let me be your Salty Dog
Or I won’t be your man at all
Honey, let me be your Salty Dog

Vincent van_Gogh_1896
Van Gogh – 1886

This is an early 1900s folk song, recorded by blues, jazz, country music, bluegrass groups and other styles.

Salty dog is a slang phrase with several meanings, including “an experienced sailor” and “a libidinous man”.
Another meaning of the term “Salty Dog” comes from the old practice of rubbing salt into the coat of one’s dog as a flea repellent. Therefore, it refers to one’s best friend, or also to a sexual partner
According to other theories, a salty dog is a bar, a cocktail a drink made with vodka or gin and grapefruit juice,   a bar,  a sort of hot dog on a stick, etc.

In this song, I think  the “salty dog” is a man who spends most of his time at sea without any serious commitment. Thus, by saying “let me be your salty dog or I won’t to be your man at all,” he is asking for a casual relationship.

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO:

Blues del lupo di mare

Sto in piedi  in un angolo e sono pieno di tristezza
ed ho grosso buco nella suola delle mie scarpe.
Cara, lascia che io sia il tuo lupo di mare

Lascia che io sia il tuo lupo di mare,
altrimenti non sarò affatto il tuo uomo.
Cara, lascia che io sia il tuo lupo di mare

Guarda qui Sal, io ti conosco:
hai le calze lise e le scarpe usurate
Cara, lascia che sia il tuo lupo di mare

Giù nel bosco ero seduto su un tronco
con il dito sul grilletto e gli occhi fissi su quel maiale
Ho tirato il grilletto e la pistola ha detto: vai!
L’uomo che ho colpito è caduto in Messico.
Cara, lascia che sia il tuo lupo di mare

(Il termine Salty Dog, che ho tradotto con “lupo di mare”, ha una serie di vari significati vari, tra cui anche quello di persona cara, a cui si è affezionati, per l’antica usanza di sfregare sale sul pelo di un cane per combattere le pulci)

Leave a Reply

