DEEP RIVER BLUES

The History of Rock Music (songs)

Deep River Blues

Let it rain, let it pour, let it rain a whole lot more
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Let the rain drive right on, let the waves sweep along
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
My old gal’s a good old pal, and she looks like a water fowl
When I get them deep river blues
Ain’t no one to cry for me, and the fish all go out on a spree
When I get them deep river blues
Give me back my old boat, I’m gonna sail if she’ll float
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
I’m goin’ back to Muscle Shoals, times are better there I’m told
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Let it rain, let it pour, let it rain a whole lot more
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Let the rain drive right on, let the waves sweep along
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
If my boat sinks with me, I’ll go down, don’t you see
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Now I’m gonna say goodbye, and if I sink, just let me die
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Let it rain, let it pour, let it rain a whole lot more
‘Cause I got them deep river blues
Let the rain drive right on, let the waves sweep along
‘Cause I got them deep river blues

 

Deep River Blues” is based on a song recorded in 1933 called “I’ve Got Them Big River Blues.”, which was probably inspired by the cataclysmic flood of 1927 along the lower Mississippi River.
The Great Flood of 1927 was a landmark moment in American history, and in music history. It was one of the worst natural disasters in the history of the United States, which left a trail of loss and damage through at least ten states: submerged land, displaced or dead people.
Arthel Lane “Doc” Watson (1923 –2012) was an American guitarist, songwriter, and singer of bluegrass, folk, country, blues, and gospel music
He was born in North Carolina and before he was one year old an eye infection caused him to lose his vision.
In an interview, he explained that he bought his first guitar because his father had told him and his brother to chop down some dead trees in their field and sell the wood to a tannery. Watson bought a $10 guitar with his earnings, while his brother bought a new suit
He got the nickname “Doc” during a live radio broadcast when the announcer remarked that his name Arthel was odd and he needed an easy nickname and fan in the crowd suggested “Call him Doc!” , maybe referring to the literary character Doctor Watson, Sherlock Holmes’s friend .

Doc Watson

TRADUZIONE:

La tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che piova, lascia che diluvi e che piova molto di più
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che la pioggia continui a scendere e che le onde trascinino via tutto
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
La mia ragazza è una cara amica che assomiglia ad un uccello d’acqua
quando mi prende la tristezza del fiume profondo
Non c’è nessuno che pianga per me, anzi tutti i pesci saltano fuori in gran baldoria
quando mi prende la tristezza del fiume profondo
Ridammi la mia vecchia barca, la userò per navigare, se galleggia
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Tornerò in Alabama, a Muscle Shoals, perché mi han detto che le cose vanno meglio là
perché mi ha preso la tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che piova, lascia che diluvi e che piova molto di più
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che la pioggia continui a scendere e che le onde trascinino via tutto
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Se la mia barca affonda con me, andrò giù,
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Adesso dirò addio, e se affonderò lasciatemi morire
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che piova, lascia che diluvi e che piova molto di più
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo
Lascia che la pioggia continui a scendere e che le onde trascinino via tutto
perché ho la tristezza del fiume profondo

Leave a Reply

