May 26, 1828

May 26, 1828

                                                       (poem by Alexander  Pushkin)

Gift haphazard, unavailing,
Life, why were thou given me?
Why art thou to death unfailing
Sentenced by dark destiny?

Who in harsh despotic fashion
Once from Nothing called me out,
Filled my soul with burning passion
Vexed and shook my mind with doubt?

I can see no goal before me;
Empty heart and idle mind.
Life monotonously o’er me
Roars, and leaves a wound behind.

Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin (1799-1837) the great Russian poet, playwright, and novelist of the Romantic period was born on the 26 of May (which corresponds to June 6 in the Gregorian calendar)
It was on his birthday, that he wrote this despairing lament.

659px-Portrait_of_Alexander_Pushkin_(Orest_Kiprensky,_1827)

Leave a Reply

