(u3a) 25 Oct: WORDS & MUSIC

Two months ago an earthquake hit Central Italy, causing a lot of casualties.

On Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016  during his concert in New Jersey BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN  dedicated “My City of Ruins” to its victims

MY CITY OF RUINS

There’s a blood red circle
On the cold dark ground
And the rain is falling down
The church doors  blown open
I can hear the organ’s song
But the congregation’s gone
My city of ruins/My city of ruins

Now the sweet  veils of mercy
Drift through the evening trees
Young men on the corner
Like scattered leaves,
The boarded up windows,
The empty streets
While my brother’s down on his knees
My city of ruins/My city of ruins

Come on, rise up! / Come on, rise up!
Come on, rise up! /Come on, rise up!
Come on, rise up!/ Come on, rise up!
Come on, rise up!

…………………………………

Now there’s tears on the pillow
Darlin’ where we slept
And you took my heart when you left
Without your sweet kiss
My soul is lost, my friend
Tell me how do I begin again?
My city’s in ruin/My city’s in ruin

Now with these hands, / With these hands,
With these hands/ With these hands,
I pray Lord                                              With these hands/With these hands,
I pray for the strength, Lord              With these hands/ With these hands,
I pray for the faith, Lord                      With these hands/ With these hands,
We  pray for your love, Lord               With these hands/ With these hands,
We  pray for the strength, Lord         With these hands/ With these hands,                       We  pray for this world , Lord             With these hands/ With these hands,                      We  pray for the strength, Lord         With these hands/ With these hands,                     We  pray for the strength, Lord         With these hands/ With these hands,
Come on, /Come on,                                                                                                                             Come on, rise up/Come on, rise up……..

 

Leave a Reply

